SASB 2017 Call for Submissions

by Paolo Zuliani, June 4, 2017

SASB 2017

The Eighth International Workshop on Static Analysis in Systems Biology

Colocated with Static Analysis Workshop (SAS) 2017

29th August 2017, New York, New York


(Papers and talks)


SASB is a one-day workshop aimed at promoting discussions and collaborations at the intersection between programming languages, formal methods, static analysis, and systems and synthetic biology of natural and engineered systems.



The program of SASB 2017 will consist of invited talks, presentations of refereed talks, and presentations of refereed papers. Contributions are welcome on all aspects of modeling languages and associated analysis techniques, including static analysis of natural biological systems and the design, specification and verification of engineered biological and chemical systems. This includes, but is not limited to:

- static analysis frameworks and tools,

- equivalences and equivalence checking techniques,

- model reduction and decomposition techniques based on static analysis,

- state space compaction based on static analysis,

- links between topology and dynamics,

- constraint-based and stoichiometric analysis,

- languages for compact description of biological models,

- formalisms for description of biological networks,

- programming languages for molecular devices,

- static analysis in verification of molecular devices design,

- standards for models and their annotation,

- case studies and method applications,

- informal methods (that could be candidate to formalization).



Full papers should be at most 12 pages, ENTCS format, excluding references. Extended abstracts (for presentation-only submissions) should be at most three pages, excluding references. Please submit on EasyChair here:


Important Dates

Paper and presentation submissions due: July 1, 2017

Paper and presentation notifications: August 2, 2017


Invited Speaker:

Matt Might (pending White House Approval), Strategist in the Executive Office of the President, Director of the Hugh Kaul Precision Medicine Institute (UAB)







Program co-chairs

Jean Yang, Carnegie Mellon University

John A. Bachman, Harvard Medical School


Program Committee

- Luca Cardelli, Microsoft Research

- Eric Deeds, University of Kansas

- James Faeder, University of Pittsburgh

- Jérôme Feret, INRIA Paris

- Ben Hall, University of Cambridge

- Jean Krivine, Université Paris Diderot

- Nicola Paoletti, Stony Brook University

- Loic Paulevé, CNRS and LRI

- Tatjana Petrov, IST Austria

- Amoury Pouly, MPI-SWS

- Ovidiu Radulescu, Université de Montpellier 2

- Qinsi Wang, Carnegie Mellon University

- Paolo Zuliani, Newcastle University