by Jun Pang, Jan. 4, 2018


                   TASE 2018 - 2nd CALL FOR PAPERS


                The 12th International Symposium on

           Theoretical Aspects of Software Engineering

                           (TASE 2018)

                August 29-31, Guangzhou, China


        For more information email: tase2018@easychair.org


* Abstract submission: February 23, 2018

* Paper submission: March 2, 2018




The 12th Theoretical Aspects of Software Engineering Conference (TASE 2018) will be held in Guangzhou, China in August, 2018.

Modern society is increasingly dependent on software systems that are becoming larger and more complex. This poses new challenges to the various aspects of software engineering, for instance, software dependability in trusted computing, interaction with physical components in cyber physical systems, distribution in cloud computing applications, etc. Hence, new concepts and methodologies are required to enhance the development of software engineering from theoretical aspects. TASE 2018 aims to provide a forum for people from academia and industry to communicate their latest results on theoretical advances in software engineering. 

TASE 2018 is the 12th in the TASE series. The past TASE symposia were successfully held in Shanghai ('07), Nanjing ('08), Tianjin ('09), Taipei ('10), Xi'an ('11), Beijing ('12), Birmingham ('13), Changsha('14), Nanjing('15), Shanghai('16) and Nice('17). The proceedings of the TASE 2018 symposium are planned to be published by the IEEE Computer Society Press. The authors of a selected subset of accepted papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers to appear in a special issue of the Science of Computer Programs journal.




The symposium is devoted to theoretical aspects of software engineering. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

* Abstract interpretation

* Algebraic and co-algebraic specifications

* Aspect oriented software

* Component-based software engineering

* Cyber-physical systems

* Deductive verification

* Distributed and concurrent systems

* Embedded and real-time systems

* Feature-oriented software

* Formal verification and program semantics

* Integration of formal methods

* Language design

* Model checking and theorem proving

* Model-driven engineering

* Object-oriented systems

* Probability in software engineering

* Program analysis

* Program logics and calculi

* Quantum computation

* Requirements engineering

* Reverse engineering and software maintenance

* Run-time verification and monitoring

* Semantic web and web services

* Service-oriented and cloud computing

* Software processes and workflows

* Software architectures and design

* Software testing and quality assurance

* Software safety, security and reliability

* Specification and verification

* Type systems and behavioural typing

* Tools exploiting theoretical results




* Rob van Glabbeek, CSIRO, and University of New South Wales, Australia

* Dongmei Zhang, Microsoft Research, China




Submission should be done through the TASE 2018 submission page, handled by the EasyChair conference system:


As in previous years, the proceedings of the conference are planned to be published by the IEEE Computer Society Press. Papers must be written in English and not exceed 8 pages in Two-Column IEEE format. 




Abstract submission : February 23, 2018

Paper submission : March 2, 2018

Notification : May 6, 2018

Camera-ready : June 6, 2018

Conference data: August 29-31, 2018




Jifeng He          (East China Normal University, China)

Jian Weng          (Jinan University, China)




Jun Pang           (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)

Chenyi Zhang       (Jinan University, China)




Keijiro Araki      (Kyushu University, Japan)

Jifeng He          (East China Normal University, China) 

Michael Hinchey    (Lero, Ireland)

Shengchao Qin      (Teesside University, UK)

Huibiao Zhu        (East China Normal University, China)




Erika Abraham, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Toshiaki Aoki, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), Japan

Farhad Arbab, CWI and Leiden University, The Netherlands

Luis Barbosa, University of Minho, Portugal

Marcello Bonsangue, Leiden University, The Netherlands

Qingliang Chen, Jinan University, China

Rocco de Nicola, Institute for Advanced Studies Lucca, Italy

Yuxin Deng, East China Normal University, China

Ylies Falcone, INRIA, France

Rob van Glabbeek, CSIRO, Australia

Marieke Huisman, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Florian Kammueller, Middlesex University, UK

Pierre Kelsen, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

Laura Kovacs, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Jingyi Long, Jinan University, China

Frederic Mallet, University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France

Mohammad Reza Mousavi, University of Leicester, UK

Shin Nakajima, National Institute of Informatics (NII), Japan

Kazuhiro Ogata, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (JAIST), Japan

Catuscia Palamidessi, INRIA, France

Shengchao Qin, Teesside University, UK

Bernhard Scholz, University of Sydney, Australia

Graeme Smith, University of Queensland, Australia 

Fu Song, ShanghaiTech University, China

Jun Sun, Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore

Wang Yi, Uppsala University, Sweden

W. Eric Wong, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA

Lijun Zhang, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Min Zhang, East China Normal University, China

Huibiao Zhu, East China Normal University, China




Guowei Luo         (Jinan University, China)




Liangda Fang       (Jinan University, China)