SETTA 2018 deadline approaching

by Xinyu Feng, April 17, 2018

SETTA 2018, Call for Papers
4th International Symposium on Dependable Software Engineering:
Theories, Tools and Applications
Beijing, China, September 4 - 6, 2018
(Co-located with CONCUR, FORMATS, and QEST as part of CONFESTA)

- Abstract deadline: April 23, 2018 (extended)
- Submission deadline: April 30, 2018
- Author notification: June 14, 2018
- Camera-ready version: June 28, 2018
- Symposium: September 4-6, 2018


SETTA aims to bring together international researchers and practitioners in the field of software technology. Its focus is on formal methods and advanced software technologies, especially for engineering complex, large-scale artifacts like cyber-physical systems, networks of things, enterprise systems, or cloud-based services. Contributions relating to formal methods or integrating them with software engineering, as well as papers advancing scalability or widening the scope of rigorous methods to new design goals are especially welcome.

As part of CONFESTA ( ), SETTA 2018 will be co-located with CONCUR, FORMATS and QUEST.


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Requirements specification and analysis

- Formalisms for modeling, design and implementation

- Model checking, theorem proving, and decision procedures

- Scalable approaches to formal system analysis

- Formal approaches to simulation and testing

- Integration of formal methods into software engineering practice

- Contract-based engineering of components, systems, and systems of systems

- Formal and engineering aspects of software evolution and maintenance

- Parallel and multicore programming

- Embedded, real-time, hybrid, and cyber-physical systems

- Mixed-critical applications and systems

- Formal aspects of service-oriented and cloud computing

- Safety, reliability, robustness, and fault-tolerance

- Dependability of smart software and systems

- Empirical analysis techniques and integration with formal methods

- Applications and industrial experience reports

- Tool integration


Authors are invited to submit papers on original research, industrial applications, or position papers proposing challenges in fundamental research and technology. The latter two types of submissions are expected to contribute to the development of formal methods either by substantiating the advantages of integrating formal methods into the development cycle or through delineating need for research by demonstrating weaknesses of existing technologies, especially when addressing new application domains. Submissions can take the form of either regular or short papers. Short papers can discuss ongoing research at an early stage, including PhD projects. Regular Papers should not exceed 16 pages and short papers should not exceed 6 pages in LNCS format. The proceedings will be published as a volume in Springer's LNCS series.

Papers should be submitted electronically through the EasyChair submission web page < >. All submissions must be in the PDF format. Papers should be written in English. Submitted papers must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere. Accepted papers must be presented at the conference.

*Invited Speakers*

- Moshe Vardi (joint keynote speaker for CONFESTA 2018), Rice University

- Tao Xie, UIUC

- Hongseok Yang, KAIST


General Chair:

- Chaochen Zhou (Inst. of Software, CAS, China)

Program Co-chairs:

- Xinyu Feng (Nanjing University, China)

- Markus Müller-Olm (University of Münster, Germany)

- Zijiang Yang (Western Michigan University, USA)

Program Committee:

- Farhad Arbab (CWI Amsterdam, Netherlands)

- Sanjay Baruah (Washington University in St. Louis, USA)

- Lei Bu (Nanjing University, China)

- Michael Butler (University of Southampton, UK)

- Yan Cai (Institute of Software, CAS, China)

- Taolue Chen (Birkbeck, University of London, UK)

- Yuxin Deng (East China Normal University, China)

- Xinyu Feng (Nanjing University, China)

- Yuan Feng (University of Technology Sydney, Australia)

- Ernst Moritz Hahn (Institute of Software, CAS, China)

- Dan Hao (Peking University, China)

- Maritta Heisel (University Duisburg-Essen, Germany)

- Raymond Hu (Imperial College London, UK)

- He Jiang (Dalian Univerisyt of Technology, China)

- Yu Jiang (Tsinghua University, China)

- Einar Broch Johnsen (University of Oslo, Norway)

- Guoqiang Li (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

- Ting Liu (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)

- Tongping Liu (University of Texas at San Antonio, USA)

- Yang Liu (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)

- Xiapu Luo (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, HongKong)

- Stephan Merz (INRIA Nancy and LORIA, France)

- Markus Müller-Olm (University of Münster, Germany)

- Jun Pang (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)

- Davide Sangiorgi (University of Bologna, Italy)

- Oleg Sokolsky (University of Pennsylvania, USA)

- Fu Song (ShanghaiTech University, China)

- Zhendong Su (University of California, Davis, USA)

- Jun Sun (Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore)

- Walid Mohamed Taha (Halmstad University, Sweden)

- Sofiene Tahar (Concordia University, Canada)

- Cong Tian (Xidian Univeristy, China)

- Bow-Yaw Wang (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)

- Chao Wang (University of Southern California, USA)

- Ji Wang (NUDT, China)

- Heike Wehrheim (University of Paderborn, Germany)

- Xin Xia (Monash University, Australia)

- Zijiang Yang (Western Michigan University, USA)

- Shin Yoo (KAIST, Korea)