EAPLS PhD Award 2013: Call for Nominations

by Arend Rensink, Aug. 20, 2013

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems has established a Best Dissertation Award in the international research area of programming languages and systems. The award will go to the PhD student who in the previous period has made the most original and influential contribution to the area. The purpose of the award is to draw attention to excellent work, to help the career of the student in question, and to promote the research field as a whole.

URL: http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD

  • at an academic institution in Europe
  • in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
  • in the period from 1 November 2012 – 1 November 2013


Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor. Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the thesis to https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=eaplsphd2013. The nomination must be accompanied by (a zip file containing)

  • a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be  considered for the award;
  • a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner  of the thesis at its defense.

The theses will be evaluated with respect to originality, influence, relevance to the field and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing.


The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international committee of experts from across Europe. The procedure to be followed is analogous to the review phase of a conference. The justification by the supervisor and the external report will play an important role in the evaluation.

Members of the expert committee are barred from nominating their own PhD students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner to have received the EAPLS PhD award 2013. If possible, the certificate will be handed out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, as for instance the ETAPS conference.

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be published. The decision of the expert committee is final and binding, and will not be subject to discussion.

Important dates

  • 31 December 2013: Deadline for nominations
  • 10 April 2014: Announcement of the award winner

Expert committee

The Expert committee includes:

  • Gilles Barthe, IMDEA Software Institute, Spain
  • Eerke Boiten, University of Kent, U.K.
  • Mark van den Brand, Universiteit Eindhoven, The Netherlands
  • Paolo Ciancarini, Universita di Bologna, Italy
  • Stefano Crespi Reghizzi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Kei Davis, Los Alamos National Laboratory, U.S.A.
  • Mariangiola Dezani, Universita di Torino, Italy
  • Josuka Díaz-Labrador, Universidad de Duesto, Spain
  • Marko van Eekelen, Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  • Giorgio Ghelli, University of Pisa, Italy
  • Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria, South Africa
  • Kevin Hammond, University of St Andrews, U.K.
  • Martin Hofmann, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany
  • Paul Klint, CWI and University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Jens Knoop, Technische Universität Wien, Austria
  • Ralf Lämmel, University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany
  • Rita Loogen, Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany
  • Tiziana Margaria, University of Potsdam, Germany
  • Greg Michaelson, Heriot-Watt University , Edinburgh, U.K.
  • Alan Mycroft, University of Cambridge, U.K.
  • Catuscia Palamidessi, LIX, France
  • Ricardo Peña, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
  • Arnd Poetzsch-Heffter, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Germany
  • Arend Rensink, Universiteit Twente, The Netherlands
  • Bernhard Steffen, Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany
  • Peter Van Roy, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium