June 1 Submission Deadline for 2018 Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award

by Svetlana Tikhonenko, May 7, 2018

Informatics Europe is still accepting submissions for its 2018 Best Practices in Education Award devoted to initiatives transforming Informatics education. The award will be presented in October 2018 and is sponsored by Microsoft.


Best Practices in Education Award

2018 Edition
"Transforming Informatics Education"
Presented by Informatics Europe
Sponsored by Microsoft
Call for Submissions Still Open


Informatics Europe is still accepting submissions for its 2018 Best Practices in Education Award devoted to initiatives transforming Informatics education.

The Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award recognizes outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of Informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

The Award rewards a successful teaching effort in Europe that:
  • has made a measurable difference in Informatics education;  
  • is widely applicable and useful for the teaching community;
  • has made a measurable impact in its original institution(s) and beyond.
Examples of impact include course results, traditional and online courses, learners’ projects, textbooks, professional development, and influence on the curriculum of other institutions/countries.

The 2018 Award is devoted toEuropean educational innovation that transforms Informatics teachingin the classroom or beyond, at school or university level, or outside of institutions. Innovation may be technology-based (for example using instructional technologies, MOOCs, learning analytics, etc.) or pedagogical. The Award will honour original contributions that focus on innovative Informatics teaching practice.

Experiences and reports showing how to use software or hardware tools in order to improve learning in other disciplines than Informatics will not be considered.

The Award is sponsored by Microsoft and carries a prize of EUR 5,000.


The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int), or Israel. Members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not eligible.
The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals (individuals or teams).

Proposals should be submitted only at:

The proposal should include:
  • Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
  • Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual or a group;
  • Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
  • Evidence of availability of the outcomes of the initiative to the teaching community (max 2 pages);
  • Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
  • A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
  • One or two letters of support. The letters of support may come for example from school or university management, associations, or colleagues in the same or another institution.
  • Proposal: June 1, 2018
  • Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2018
The Award will be presented at the 14th European Computer Science Summit, in Gothenburg, Sweden, 8-10 October 2018, where the winner or winners (one representative in the case of an institution) will be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

Award Committee:

  • Michael Kölling, King's College London, UK (Chair)
  • Michal Armoni, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel
  • Tim Bell, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Peter Hubwieser, Technische Universität München, Germany
  • Peter McOwen, Queen Mary University of London, UK
  • Arnold Pears, Uppsala Universitet, Sweden
  • Jan Vahrenhold, Universität Münster, Germany
Further inquiries:
[email protected]