Call for Submissions: 2019 Minerva Informatics Equality Award

by Svetlana Tikhonenko, Feb. 25, 2019

Informatics Europe announces the 2019 Minerva Informatics Equality Award devoted to gender equality initiatives and policies to develop the careers of female faculty. The fourth of this annual award will be presented in October 2019 and is sponsored by Google.

Minerva Informatics Equality Award

2019 Edition
'Developing the Careers of Female Faculty'

Presented by Informatics Europe
Sponsored by Google

Call for Submissions Now Open

Informatics Europe proudly announces the fourth Minerva Informatics Equality Award devoted to initiatives seeking to encourage and support the careers of women in Informatics research and education. The fourth of this annual award will be presented in October 2019 and is sponsored by Google.

The Informatics Europe Minerva Informatics Equality Award recognizes best practices in Departments or Faculties of European Universities or Research Institutes and Labs that have been demonstrated to have a positive impact for women. On a three-year cycle the award will focus each year on a different stage of the career pipeline:

  • Developing the careers of female faculty, including retention and promotion;
  • Supporting the transition for PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions;
  • Encouraging female students to enroll in Computer Science/Informatics programs and retaining them.

The 2019 Award is devoted to gender equality initiatives and policies to develop the careers of female faculty.

The Award seeks to celebrate successful initiatives that have had a measurable impact on the careers of women within the institution. Such initiatives can serve as exemplars of best practices within the community, with the potential to be widely adopted by other institutions. Submissions will need to demonstrate the impact that has been achieved.

For 2019 examples of impact could include an improved success rate in recruiting, retaining and promoting female staff, increased satisfaction scores from objective surveys of staff experience, achievement of €'beacon'€ status (i.e. being used as an exemplar within national or regional initiatives).

The Award carries a prize of EUR 5,000.

The Award will be given to a Department or Faculty to be used for further work on promoting gender equality. To be eligible, institutions must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe, or Israel. Institutions associated with members of the WIRE Working Group and of the Award panel are not eligible. The Award panel will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between different applications. Moreover, noteworthy runners up may also be included as exemplars of best practice in future Informatics Europe publications.

Proposals should be submitted only at:

The proposal should include:

  • Contact information of the Head/Director of the applying Department or Faculty and the responsible for the application;
  • A brief summary or abstract (100 words or less) which can be made public;
  • Description of the initiative (max 2 pages);
  • Evidence of its impact (max 2 pages);
  • An optional reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
  • Optionally, one or two letters of support. The letters of support may come, for example, from female staff members who have benefited from the scheme;
  • An indication of whether the submission can be considered as a runner up (if it does not win the award) and be included as an exemplar of best practice in future Informatics Europe publications.


  • Full submissions: June 1, 2019
  • Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2019

The Award will be presented at the 15th European Computer Science Summit (ECSS), in Rome, October 28-30, 2019, where a representative of the winning institution will be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

Award Panel:

  • Dana Petcu, Universitatea de Vest din Timișoara, Romania (Chair)
  • Josephina Antoniou, University of Central Lancashire, Cyprus
  • Maria Carla Calzarossa, Università di Pavia, Italy
  • Elisabetta Di Nitto, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • M.J. Escalona, Universidad de Sevilla, Spain
  • Maria Ganzha, Politechnika Warszawska, Poland
  • Ilona Heldal, Bergen University College, Norway
  • Aneta Karaivanova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria
  • Olaf Owe, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Laura Ricci, Università di Pisa, Italy.

Further inquiries:
[email protected]