VSTTE 2020: Call for papers

by Maria Christakis, March 8, 2020

Verified Software: Theories, Tools and Experiments (VSTTE) 2020
July 19-20, 2020, Los Angeles, USA (co-located with CAV 2020 and ISSTA 2020)

The Verified Software Initiative (VSI), spearheaded by Tony
Hoare and Jayadev Misra, is an ambitious research program for making
large-scale verified software a practical reality. The Working
Conference on Verified Software: Theories, Tools and Experiments
(VSTTE) is the main forum for advancing the initiative. VSTTE brings
together experts spanning the spectrum of software verification in
order to foster international collaboration on the critical research
challenges. The theoretical work includes semantic foundations and
logics for specification and verification, and verification algorithms
and methodologies. The tools cover specification and annotation
languages, program analyzers, model checkers, interactive verifiers
and proof checkers, automated theorem provers and SAT/SMT solvers, and
integrated verification environments. The experimental work drives the
research agenda for theory and tools by taking on significant
specification/verification exercises covering hardware, operating
systems, compilers, computer security, parallel computing, and
cyber-physical systems.

The 2020 edition of VSTTE will be the 12th working conference in the
series, and will be co-located with CAV 2020 and ISSTA 2020 in Los
Angeles, USA.

SCOPE: We welcome submissions describing significant advances in the
production of verified software, i.e., software that has been proved
to meet its functional specifications. Submissions of theoretical,
practical, and experimental contributions are equally encouraged,
including those that focus on specific problems or problem domains.
We are especially interested in submissions describing large-scale
verification efforts that involve collaboration, theory unification,
tool integration, and formalized domain knowledge. We also welcome
papers describing novel experiments and case studies evaluating
verification techniques and technologies.

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to

Requirements modeling
Specification languages
Specification/verification/certification case-studies
Formal calculi
Software design methods
Automatic code generation
Refinement methodologies
Compositional analysis
Verification tools
Tool integration
Challenge problems
Integrated verification environments

Work on diverse verification technologies, e.g., static analysis,
dynamic analysis, model checking, theorem proving, satisfiability, is
particularly encouraged.

SUBMISSIONS: VSTTE 2020 will accept both long (limited to 16 pages,
excluding references) and short (limited to 10 pages, excluding
references) paper submissions. Short submissions also cover
Verification Pearls describing an elegant proof or proof
technique. Submitted research papers and system descriptions must be
original and not submitted for publication elsewhere. Submissions of
theoretical, practical, and experimental contributions are equally
encouraged, including those that focus on specific problems or problem

Papers can be submitted at the VSTTE 2020 conference page:
Submissions that arrive late, are not in the proper format, or are too
long will not be considered. The post-conference proceedings of VSTTE
2020 will be published by Springer-Verlag in the LNCS series. Authors
of accepted papers will be requested to sign a form transferring
copyright of their contribution to Springer-Verlag. The use of LaTeX
and the Springer LNCS class files
(http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html) is strongly

April 14, 2020 : Abstract submission
April 20, 2020 : Paper submission
June 5, 2020: Notification of acceptance
July 19-20, 2020: Conference
August 28, 2020 : Camera-ready for post-conference proceedings

Natarajan Shankar (SRI International, USA)


Maria Christakis (MPI-SWS, Germany)
Nadia Polikarpova (UCSD, USA)


Christel Baier (TU Dresden, Germany)
Nikolaj Bjørner (Microsoft Research, USA)
Supratik Chakraborty (IIT Bombay, India)
Eva Darulova (MPI-SWS, Germany)
Ankush Desai (UC Berkeley and AWS, USA)
Gidon Ernst (LMU Munich, Germany)
Grigory Fedyukovich (Florida State University, USA)
Pietro Ferrara (Ca' Foscari University of Venice, Italy)
Jean-Christophe Filliâtre (CNRS, France)
Carlo A. Furia (USI, Switzerland)
Patrice Godefroid (Microsoft Research, USA)
Marieke Huisman (University of Twente, Netherlands)
Rajeev Joshi (AWS, USA)
Dejan Jovanović (SRI International, USA)
Akash Lal (Microsoft Research, India)
Nuno P. Lopes (Microsoft Research, UK)
Peter Müller (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
Jorge Navas (SRI International, USA)
Andrei Paskevich (Paris-Sud University, France)
Hila Peleg (UCSD, USA)
Chris Poskitt (SMU, Singapore)
Zvonimir Rakamaric (University of Utah, USA)
Philipp Rümmer (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Christian Schilling (IST Austria, Austria)
Rahul Sharma (Microsoft Research, India)
Julien Signoles (CEA LIST, France)
Graeme Smith (The University of Queensland, Australia)
Michael Tautschnig (Queen Mary University of London and AWS, UK)
Tachio Terauchi (Waseda University, Japan)
Caterina Urban (INRIA, France)
Thomas Wies (NYU, USA)
Kirsten Winter (The University of Queensland, Australia)
Valentin Wüstholz (ConsenSys Diligence, Germany)
Damien Zufferey (MPI-SWS, Germany)