[CFP] 15th Workshop on Workflows in Support of Large-Scale Science (WORKS20)

by Hoang Nguyen, June 11, 2020

Workshop on Workflows in Support of Large-Scale Science (WORKS20)

Apologies if you receive multiple copies of this email!!!

Call For Papers
15th Workshop on Workflows in Support of Large-Scale Science (WORKS20)
to be held in conjunction with SC 2020 and in cooperation with IEEE TCHPC
Sun Nov 15, Atlanta, GA, USA
Scientific workflows have been almost universally used across scientific domains and have underpinned some of the most significant discoveries of the past several decades. Workflow management systems (WMSs) provide abstraction and automation which enable a broad range of researchers to easily define sophisticated computational processes and to then execute them efficiently on parallel and distributed computing systems. As workflows have been adopted by a number of scientific communities, they are becoming more complex and require more sophisticated workflow management capabilities. A workflow now can analyze terabyte-scale data sets, be composed of one million individual tasks, require coordination between heterogeneous tasks, manage tasks that execute for milliseconds to hours, and can process data streams, files, and data placed in object stores. The computations can be single core workloads, loosely coupled computations, or tightly all within a single workflow, and can run in dispersed computing platforms.
This workshop focuses on the many facets of scientific workflow management systems, ranging from actual execution to service management and the coordination and optimization of data, service, and job dependencies. The workshop covers a broad range of issues in the scientific workflow lifecycle that include: scientific workflows representation and enactment; workflow scheduling techniques to optimize the execution of the workflow on heterogeneous infrastructures; workflow enactment engines that need to deal with failures in the application and execution environment; and a number of computer science problems related to scientific workflows such as semantic technologies, compiler methods, scheduling and fault detection and tolerance.
WORKS20 will be held in conjunction with the SuperComputing (SC20), Atlanta, Georgia, USA, at Georgia World Congress Center (GWCC).


WORKS20 welcomes original submissions in a range of areas, including but not limited to:
  * Big Data analytics workflows
  * Data-driven workflow processing (including stream-based workflows)
  * Workflow composition, tools, and languages
  * Workflow execution in distributed environments (including HPC, clouds, and grids)
  * Reproducible computational research using workflows
  * Dynamic data dependent workflow systems solutions
  * Exascale computing with workflows
  * In Situ Data Analytics Workflows
  * Interactive workflows (including workflow steering)
  * Workflow fault-tolerance and recovery techniques
  * Workflow user environments, including portals
  * Workflow applications and their requirements
  * Workflow optimizations (including scheduling and energy efficiency)
  * Performance analysis of workflows
  * Workflow debugging
  * Workflow provenance
  * Machine Learning workflows
Papers should present original research and should provide sufficient background material to make them accessible to the broader community.
Important Dates
Full paper deadline:                                               August 15, 2020
Paper acceptance notification:                               September 15, 2020
E-copyright registration completed by authors:    October 1, 2020
Camera-ready deadline:                                         October 1, 2020
Workshop:                                                              November 15, 2020
Submission Guidelines:
Submissions are limited to 8 pages in the IEEE format (see https://www.ieee.org/conferences/publishing/templates.html). The 8-page limit includes figures, tables, appendices, and references.  WORKS papers this year will be published in cooperation with TCHPC and will be available from IEEE digital repository.

All submitted papers will undergo a rigorous review process and each will have at least three reviews by members of the program committee. Papers will be accepted based on their technical contributions.


Organizing Committee
- Rafael Ferreira da Silva, University of Southern California, USA
- Rosa Filgueira, University of Edinburgh, UK

General Chair
- Ian Taylor, Cardiff University, UK, University of Notre Dame, USA
Steering Committee
- David Abramson, University of Queensland, Australia
- Malcolm Atkinson, University of Edinburgh, UK
- Ewa Deelman, University of Southern California, USA
- Michela Taufer, University of Tennessee

Publicity Chair
- Hoang Anh Nguyen, University of Queensland, Australia

Program Committee (tentative)
- Pinar Alper  – King's College London, UK
- Ilkay Altintas – SDSC, USA
- Khalid Belhajjame Universit. Paris-Dauphine, France
- Ivona Brandic – TU Wien, Austria
- Kris Bubendorfer – VUW, New Zealand
- Jesus Carretero – Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
- Henri Casanova – University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA
- Rafael Ferreira da Silva – USC/ISI, USA
- Daniel Garijo – USC/ISI, USA
- Sandra Gesing – University of Notre Dame, USA
- Tristan Glatard  – Concordia University, Canada
- Daniel Katz – UIUC, USA
- Tamas Kiss – University of Westminster, UK
- Dagmar Krefting – HTW Berlin, Germany
- Maciej Malawski – AGH UST, Poland
- Anirban Mandal – RENCI, USA
- Marta Mattoso – UFRJ, Brazil
- Paolo Missier – Newcastle University, UK
- Hoang Anh Nguyen, University of Queensland, Australia
- Jarek Nabrzyski – University of Notre Dame, USA
- Daniel de Oliveira – UFF, Brazil
- Ilia Pietri, Intracom SA Telecom Solutions, Greece
- Loic Pottier – USC/ISI, USA
- Radu Prodan – University of Innsbruck, Austria
- Omer Rana – Cardiff University, UK
- Ivan Rodero – Rutgers University, USA
- Rizos Sakellariou – University of Manchester, UK
- Frédéric Suter – CNRS, France
- Andrew Stephen Mcgough – Newcastle University, UK
- Domenico Talia – University of Calabria, Italy
- Douglas Thain – University of Notre Dame, USA
- Rafael Tolosana-Calasanz – Universidad de Zaragoza, Spain
- Chase Wu – NJ Institute of Technology, USA