[email protected]'22 - deadline extension (24th January)

by Clemens Dubslaff, Jan. 11, 2022

QAVS targets researchers that are active in the areas of quantitative modeling and analysis for system families, e.g., provided through parameters, configuration options, or features. The aim is to discuss challenges, work in progress, and results. The workshop solicits regular paper, short paper, and presentation-only submissions.


Third Workshop on Quantitative Aspects of Variant-rich Systems

3 April 2022 @ ETAPS 2022, Munich, Germany



Scope and Format

System variants often arise by configuring parameters that have a direct impact on the system’s behavior. Most prominently, in feature-oriented system design, features describe optional or incremental system functionalities whose configuration is simply whether a feature is active or inactive. Since the configuration space usually suffers from an exponential blowup in the number of configuration parameters, such variant-rich systems require specialized methods for their design, implementation, and analysis. Quantitative aspects such as probability of failure, energy consumption, or also numerical parameter values gain more and more attention due to the rising impact of co-adaptive and autonomous cyber-physical systems. While there are well-developed methodologies for variant-rich systems that do not take quantitative specifications into account, research on quantitative aspects is still done in fairly isolated branches. The main goal of this workshop is to bring researchers of the field together and foster their collaboration, presenting the different approaches to deal with non-functional properties of variant-rich systems.


Topics of Interest

The workshop is related but not limited to any combination of the following topics:

design, modeling, implementation, analysis, verification


performance, reliability, costs, stochastic effects


parametric systems, configurable systems, product lines


Submission Details

The workshop solicits three kinds of submissions:

• Regular papers that describe original research results or surveys, not exceeding 12 pages excluding references.

• Short papers describing experiences, case studies, tools, work in progress, or exploratory ideas. Such papers should not exceed 6 pages excluding references.

• Presentation-only submissions comprise an abstract that describes the tentative content of the talk. Such abstracts should not exceed 2 pages and may include already published material, unpublished work, and even challenges.

All regular paper and short paper submissions must be original, unpublished, and not submitted concurrently for publication elsewhere. Artifacts required to judge the paper should be made available through an URL. Paper submission is done via EasyChair (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=qavs2022). All submissions must be written in English and formatted according to the guidelines for EPTCS papers (see http://info.eptcs.org). Presentation-only submissions will only be reviewed for suitability, while regular and short papers undergo a peer-reviewing process by at least three PC members where final versions will be published in the EPTCS workshop series in case of acceptance. At least one author of each accepted submission will need to register for the workshop and provide a presentation.

As ETAPS 2022, the workshop is planned as an on-site event but with the possibility of virtual participation.


Important Dates

Submission: 10 January 2022 24 January 2022 (extended)

Notification: 14 February 2022 28 February 2022 (extended)

Final version: 28 February 2022 14 March 2022 (extended)

Workshop: 3 April 2022


Invited Speaker

• Jan Křetínský (TU Munich, Germany)



• Maurice H. ter Beek (ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy)

• Clemens Dubslaff (Technical University of Dresden, Germany)

Program Committee

• Sven Apel (Saarland University, Saarbrücken, Germany)

• Christel Baier (Technical University of Dresden, Germany)

• Maxime Cordy (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)

• Erik de Vink (Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands)

• Uli Fahrenberg (EPITA Rennes, France)

• Sebastian Junges (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)

• Axel Legay (UC Louvain, Belgium)

• Alberto Lluch Lafuente (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark)

• Mieke Massink (ISTI-CNR, Pisa, Italy)

• Tatjana Petrov (University of Konstanz, Germany)

• José Proença (CISTER Porto, Portugal)

• Genaína Rodrigues (University of Brasilia, Brazil)

• Christoph Seidl (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)

• Thomas Thüm (University of Ulm, Germany)

• Andrea Vandin (Sant'Anna School of Advanced Studies, Pisa, Italy)

• Mahsa Varshosaz (IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark)