EAPLS Best Dissertation Award 2023: Extended Deadline

by Andreas Wortmann, Aug. 28, 2023

The deadline of the EAPLS Best Dissertation Award 2023 has been extended to September 30.

More at http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/

EAPLS Best Dissertation Award 2023: Extended Deadline

URL: http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems (EAPLS) has established a Best Dissertation Award in the research area of programming languages and systems. The award will go to the PhD student who in the previous period has made the most original and influential contribution to the area. The purpose of the award is to draw attention to excellent work, to help the career of the student in question, and to promote the research field as a whole.


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD
* at an academic institution in Europe
* in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
* in the period from 1 January 2022 – 31 December 2022


Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor. Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the nomination via https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=eapls22. The nomination must consist of a single PDF file containing
* a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be considered for the award;
* a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner of the thesis at its defense;
* the thesis itself.

The nominated theses will be evaluated with respect to originality and significance to the field, and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing. Where the thesis consists of a collection of papers, in assessing the quality of writing careful consideration will be given to the introduction and overall conclusion chapters of the thesis, as well as the quality of the individual papers and their consistent use of notation, concepts, etc.

Questions can be directed to the best dissertation award chair:
Andreas Wortmann <[email protected]>


The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international committee of experts. The justification by the supervisor and the external report will play an important role in the evaluation. The final decision is made by the EAPLS board, based on the recommendation of the expert committee.

Members of the expert committee and the EAPLS board are barred from nominating their own PhD students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner of the EAPLS PhD award 2022 and the supervisor will receive a copy of this certificate. If possible, the certificate will be handed out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, for instance the ETAPS conference. In addition, the winner will be invited to submit a short video summarizing the thesis work, which will be made available via the EAPLS website.

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be published. The decision of the expert committee is final and binding and will not be subject to discussion.

Important Dates

30 September 2023:     Extended deadline for nominations
1 December 2023:    Announcement of the award winner

Expert Committee

The expert committee includes:

Ana Sokolova (University of Salzburg, AT)
Christoph Kirsch (University of Salzburg, AT)
Eerke Boiten (De Montfort University, UK)
James Cheney (The University of Edinburgh, UK)
Greg J. Michaelson (Heriot-Watt University, UK)
Jens Knoop (TU Vienna, AT)
Kei Davis (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
Mariangiola Dezani-Ciancaglini (Università di Torino, IT)
Matteo Pradella (Politecnico di Milano, IT)
Sandra Alves (University of Porto, PT)
Santiago Escobar (Universitat Politècnica de València, ES)
Stefan Gruner (University of Pretoria, SA)
Stefano Crespi Reghizzi (Politecnico di Milano, IT)