EAPLS PhD Award 2020 Call for Nominations

by Andreas Wortmann, July 26, 2021

EAPLS PhD Award 2020 Call for Nominations
- 30 August 2020: Deadline for nominations
- More at http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/


EAPLS PhD Award 2020: Call for Nominations


URL: http://eapls.org/pages/phd_award/

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems (EAPLS) has established a Best Dissertation Award in the international research area of programming languages and systems. The award will go to the Ph.D. student who in the previous period has made the most original and influential contribution to the area. The purpose of the award is to draw attention to excellent work, to help the career of the student in question, and to promote the research field as a whole.



Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their PhD

* at an academic institution in Europe

* in the field of Programming Languages and Systems

* in the period from 1 January 2020 – 31 December 2020



Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor. Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the nomination to https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=ebda20. The nomination must consist of a single PDF file containing

* a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be considered for the award;

* a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner of the thesis at its defense; and

* the thesis itself.

The theses will be evaluated with respect to originality, influence, relevance to the field and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing.

Questions can be directed to the Ph.D. award chairs, at [email protected].



The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international committee of experts. The procedure to be followed is analogous to the review phase of a conference. The justification by the supervisor and the external report will play an important role in the evaluation. The final decision is made by the EAPLS board, based on the recommendation of the expert committee.

Members of the expert committee and the EAPLS board are barred from nominating their own Ph.D. students for the award.

The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner to have received the EAPLS Ph.D. award 2020 and the supervisor will receive a copy of this certificate. If possible, the certificate will be handed out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, as for instance the ETAPS conference.

Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be published. The decision of the expert committee is final and binding and will not be subject to discussion.

Important Dates


30 August 2020:       Deadline for nominations

1 December 2020:    Announcement of the award winner

Expert Committee


The expert committee includes:

* Anja Helene Bagge, University of Bergen, Norway

* Eerke Boiten, De Montfort University, UK

* Luis Caires, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal

* Marco Carbone, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark

* Stefano Crespi Reghizzi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

* Kei Davis, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA

* Mariangiola Dezani, Universitá di Torino, Italy

* JosuKa Díaz Labrador, Universidad de Deusto, Spain

* Maurizio Gabbrielli, University of Bologna, Italy

* Sabine Glesner, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany

* Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria, South Africa

* Christoph Kirsch, University of Salzburg, Austria

* Jens Knoop, TU Vienna, Austria

* Ralf Lämmel, University of Koblenz, Germany

* Greg Michaelson, Heriot-Watt University, UK

* Alan Mycroft, University of Cambridge, UK

* Peter Müller, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

* Ricardo Peña, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

* Matteo Pradella, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

* Gunter Saake, Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg, Germany

* Ana Sokolova, Universität Salzburg, Austria

* Peter Van Roy, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium