EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

Call for Nominations

The European Association for Programming Languages and Systems has established a Best Ph.D. Dissertation Award in the international research area of programming languages and systems. The award will go to the Ph.D. student who in the previous period has made the most original and influential contribution to the area. The purpose of the award is to draw attention to excellent work, to help the career of the student in question, and to promote the research field as a whole.


Eligible for the award are those who successfully defended their Ph.D.
  • at an academic institution in Europe
  • in the field of Programming Languages and Systems
  • in the period from 1 January 2021 - 31 December 2021


Candidates for the award must be nominated by their supervisor. Nominating a candidate consists of submitting the nomination via EasyChair. The nomination must consist of a single PDF file containing
  • a letter from the supervisor describing why the thesis should be considered for the award;
  • a report from an independent researcher who has acted as examiner of the thesis at its defense; and
  • the thesis itself.
The theses will be evaluated with respect to originality, influence, relevance to the field and (to a lesser degree) quality of writing. Questions can be directed to the chairs via [email protected].


The nominations will be evaluated and compared by an international committee of experts. The procedure to be followed is analogous to the review phase of a conference. The justification by the supervisor and the external report will play an important role in the evaluation. The final decision is made by the EAPLS board, based on the recommendation of the expert committee. Members of the expert committee and the EAPLS board are barred from nominating their own Ph.D. students for the award. The award consists of a certificate announcing the winner to have received the EAPLS Ph.D. dissertation award 2021 and the supervisor will receive a copy of this certificate. If possible, the certificate will be handed out ceremonially at a suitable occasion, as for instance the ETAPS conference. Apart from the winner, no further ranking of nominees will be published. The decision of the expert committee is final and binding, and will not be subject to discussion.

Important Dates

  • 30 August 2022: Deadline for nominations
  • 1 December 2022: Announcement of the award winner

Expert Committee

The decision on the award is taken by an expert committee, consisting of leading researchers in programming languages and systems. The committee currently consists of:
    • Anja Helene Bagge, University of Bergen, Norway
    • Eerke Boiten, De Montfort University, UK
    • Luis Caires, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
    • Marco Carbone, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
    • Stefano Crespi Reghizzi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
    • Kei Davis, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA
    • Mariangiola Dezani, Universitá di Torino, Italy
    • JosuKa Díaz Labrador, Universidad de Deusto, Spain
    • Maurizio Gabbrielli, University of Bologna, Italy
    • Sabine Glesner, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
    • Stefan Gruner, University of Pretoria, South Africa
    • Christoph Kirsch, University of Salzburg, Austria
    • Jens Knoop, TU Vienna, Austria
    • Ralf Lämmel, University of Koblenz, Germany
    • Greg Michaelson, Heriot-Watt University, UK
    • Alan Mycroft, University of Cambridge, UK
    • Peter Müller, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
    • Ricardo Peña, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
    • Matteo Pradella, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
    • Gunter Saake, Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg, Germany
    • Ana Sokolova, Universität Salzburg, Austria
    • Peter Van Roy, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium


      • Maribel Fernandez, King's College London, UK (co-chair)
      • Andreas Wortmann, University of Stuttgart, Germany (co-chair)

      Past Best Dissertation Awards

      • 2020 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Amir Kafshdar Goharshad

        Parameterized and Algebro-geometric Advances in Static Program Analysis
        Read more about the motivation for this award.
      • 2019 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Martin Bromberger
        Decision Procedures for Linear Arithmetic
        Read more about the motivation for this award.

      • 2018 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Dr. Christian Hensel, RWTH Aachen University
        The Probabilistic Model Checker Storm - Symbolic Methods for Probabilistic Model Checking
        Read more about the motivation for this award.

      • 2016/17 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Jesper Cockx, Ph.D., KU Leuven

        Dependent Pattern Matching and Proof-Relevant Unification
        Read more about the motivation for this award.

      • 2015 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Dr. Maria Christakis, ETH Zürich

        Narrowing the gap between verification and systematic testing
        Read more about the motivation for this award.

      • 2014 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Dr. Fabrizio Montesi, IT University of Copenhagen

        Choreographic Programming

        Read more
         about the motivation for this award.

      • 2013 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Dr. Zhiwu Xu, Université Paris Diderot

        Parametric Polymorphism for XML Processing Languages
        Read more
         about the motivation for this award.

      • 2012 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Dr. Delphine Demange, ENS Cachan - Brittany Extension and the Celtique team at IRISA / INRIA Rennes

        Semantic Foundations of Intermediate Program Representations
        Read more about the motivation for this award.

      • 2011 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Dr. Santiago Zanella Béguelin, École nationale supérieure des mines de Paris

        Formal Certification of Game-Based Cryptographic Proofs
        Read more
         about the motivation for this award.

      • 2010 EAPLS Best Dissertation Award

        Dr. Alexey Gotsman, Computer Laboratory, University of Cambridge

        Logics and analyses for concurrent heap-manipulating programs
        Read more about the motivation for this award.